Ninja H2 banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having over 2k miles on this thing, and getting ready for my 3rd set of tires. I am still learning to ride this thing, but have figured out a few things.
First on most of the twisty roads I use 2nd gear so I have good pull, 3rd is too weak. But I am starting to hit the rev limiter on some short straights. And shifting for a one second is a waste, so second gear is too slow. Hopefully one tooth up in the front will do the trick. At least bring it closer to the ZX10s gearing which is much taller.
Also at this altitude it is very hard to wheelie in second, you have to be about 10rpm and bang it hard to have it come up. So to wheelie between corners you have to be in first and it just isn't fast enough.

Maybe one tooth will calm down the 1st gear wheelies and they will be a bit more controllable.

At lower altitudes, the thing is a handful, but again I'm hitting the rev limiter even quicker on short straights.

Also at lower altitudes the traction control does seem to let the wheel come up a bit further, maybe it is so quick the TC can't catch it as early as it does at high alts.

Latest observations:
There is a big difference between low altitude and high. It is effected as much as any other NA bike below 7000. From 7k up it performs well.

I have a feeling the Bridgestone tires are slowing down the handling(maybe because of the 200). And the tire wear I suspect is because Bridgestone doesn't handle the internal flexing as well as they should. I could be wrong but, will see with the Michelins.
I have taken several long rides (over 350 miles) and find it to be comfortable. Body position is fine, and if you move around on the seat it is reasonable.

The throttle modification really helps ride twisty roads more aggressively. It is still very harsh, especially at lower altitudes, but much better.
I need to dial in the suspension it seems a bit harsh one bumpy roads.