Ninja H2 banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was just reading through the 2017 article and it says there is a CAN coupler in the cockpit for data logging.
I am an embedded systems programmer and build hardware for communications. Been looking for an excuse to tap into a CAN system and now I have one.
Probably just use a NXP LPC11U34 since I have prototypes already built for I/0. Although the mbed NXP LPC11U24 might be easier. Hmmm.
Time for some research...seems that the NXP LPC family has all sorts of chips that support the CAN electrical interface and decode both the protocols.. Cool. Data logging here I come.

·
Registered
674 Posts
Apparently the new Kawasaki's have a lot more communication ability , not as flexable as the flashing, but more than previous, my local dealer was getting all excited about it
Good luck with the project

·
Registered
238 Posts
...it says there is a CAN coupler in the cockpit for data logging...
Yep, I had seen that too before I got my bike but there was next to no other mention from Kawasaki about it and the bloody big manual only shows how to test the CAN output and mentioned a few devices using CAN (ABS, dash etc).

With a fair bit of digging I found it under the front left cover (wrapped in foam and has a plastic cap. With a bit more digging I found it's the same as the KDS plug in the tail, minus a couple of wires.

I have a simple ODB scanner, SPTools (pic below) and it works fine in both the tail KDS plug and the "new" cockpit one (same loom at each end of the bike).

I can read live info, read errors and clear errors and I'm about to start logging info from it too (when I find somewhere to mount the datalogger!)

So yeah, knock yourself out, you can do all sorts of good stuff with that (those) plugs on the 2017+ models.

Attachments

·
Registered
238 Posts
What we will need though is a list of interesting PIDS on the CAN bus.