Any h2 complaints? - Page 6 - Kawasaki Ninja H2 Forum
 56Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #51 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 01:47 PM
Member
 
mombo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Question Oil Leak

Quote:
Originally Posted by 45moe View Post
Well I have around 1200 km on my H2, it has had a weird little oil leak right from day one in the showroom. It was documented at the dealer at the time, it has also stalled out twice when I roll the throttle off to make a stop. Kawi is concerned about the issue and my bike is going in tomorrow for some tests. Also when my service was done they took over five liters of oil out of the bike and it only took 4.3 liters to fill it back up. I'm not complaining at all, it is a very impressive machine.


Well all the symptoms you have lead to over filling from the factory.


If they drained out over 5 liters and it only takes 4.3 liters to fill back up.


When there is to much oil in the bike it will make it stall and possibly leak.
mombo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
SilverbirdH2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,935
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 700 Post(s)
maybe some blowby coming out of the drain line?Bummer it's seeming to have something going on just now....



SilverbirdH2 is online now  
post #53 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Kawiguy454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
I think ZX14 had oil leak if level was too high. Didn't anyone look at the oil sight glass at the dealer before delivery? Just sad man I hope it gets worked out OK.

Hond Trail 70 - Hond 125xl
2 x Yama RD350's
Yama IT465 - Yam Raptor 700
Kawi Z550
Suz Bandit 1200
Yama FZ1
Kawi ZX14
Kawi Concours 14
Kawi H2
Kawiguy454 is offline  
 
post #54 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
C. Dolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fretka View Post
I use a dremel motor tool to remove the plastic pin so you can then put the housing anywhere you want. A half-round file works great too.
NOOOOOOooooooooooooo !

Though more difficult , it would have been better to drill another hole

in the bar.

The switch is only held by 3 wimpy screws taking a 3 mm allen wrench.

Can't be torqued too tight and likely will get loose with age.

Have had other bikes that pin was sheared and were a PITA to keep

switch from moving.
racer172 likes this.
C. Dolan is offline  
post #55 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 04:31 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Casper, Wyoming
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45moe View Post
Well I have around 1200 km on my H2, it has had a weird little oil leak right from day one in the showroom. It was documented at the dealer at the time, it has also stalled out twice when I roll the throttle off to make a stop. Kawi is concerned about the issue and my bike is going in tomorrow for some tests. Also when my service was done they took over five liters of oil out of the bike and it only took 4.3 liters to fill it back up. I'm not complaining at all, it is a very impressive machine.
I actually had my bike stall in the same fashion the first ~2 days I had it. Only as I was going to stop and was letting off the throttle, I was a little concerned but it went away after I changed the oil, hopefully that fixes it for you as well. I never had a leak, and other than the stalling the first day, and the annoying positioning of the signal button I have no complaints.
Tembo307 is offline  
post #56 of 150 Old 04-22-2015, 08:58 PM
Senior Member
 
C. Dolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tembo307 View Post
I actually had my bike stall in the same fashion the first ~2 days I had it. Only as I was going to stop and was letting off the throttle, I was a little concerned but it went away after I changed the oil, hopefully that fixes it for you as well. I never had a leak, and other than the stalling the first day, and the annoying positioning of the signal button I have no complaints.

Mine did that the 1st weekend if I did a sudden stop and chopped the throttle.

Seems to be ok, now.

Will see how much oil comes out of it when I do the 600 mile oil change this weekend.
C. Dolan is offline  
post #57 of 150 Old 04-23-2015, 12:05 AM
Member
 
45moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
I dropped it off at the shop for a couple days while I am at work. They need to check the voltage and see where the oil leak comes from. I had thought I read that this bike takes around 5.3 liters of oil?
45moe is offline  
post #58 of 150 Old 04-23-2015, 04:33 AM
Member
 
Kozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Yeh I hade my bike at the bike shop over night a few days ago while they checked it for me,I didn't get to ride the bike for a week,when I took it out she had a flat battery,didn't take long to get charge back in her and I was off,but there wasn't even enough power to light up the dash,so off to the shop she went,it turned out everything is fine and all has been documented,while in there I got them to hook up a connector to the battery so I can plug a charger to it and keep up a maintenance charge to the battery,don't like flat batteries
Kozzy is offline  
post #59 of 150 Old 04-23-2015, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
BobC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: UK
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 509 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by C. Dolan View Post
NOOOOOOooooooooooooo !

Though more difficult , it would have been better to drill another hole

in the bar.

The switch is only held by 3 wimpy screws taking a 3 mm allen wrench.

Can't be torqued too tight and likely will get loose with age.

Have had other bikes that pin was sheared and were a PITA to keep

switch from moving.
Is drilling a hole in the bar really a good idea? Surely it would weaken it.
BobC is offline  
post #60 of 150 Old 05-23-2015, 02:53 AM
Member
 
45moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cranbrook B.C. Canada
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Well my bike is still leaking spots of oil. I have just over 3000 kms on it now. If this was my new car the dealer would be receiving my keys and giving back my cash. I am not real sure what to do,but I have no plans of mopping oil off the floor every time I park it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1432360357085.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	140.7 KB
ID:	3738   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1432360380143.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	209.0 KB
ID:	3746  
45moe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Ninja H2 Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome